Eight Manufacturers To Enter Formula E Next Season

As was announced earlier, Formula E is looking to diversify the race cars in season 2. In the first season, the cars were all the same in an effort to make to the series very competitive and the cost of entry cheap.

The move from a common car to a whole set of different cars will be gradual to not exacerbate costs, especially for smaller teams, as the series is still in its infancy.

Eight manufacturers to enter Formula E next season

Eight manufacturers to enter Formula E next season

The official statement from the Federation Internationale de l’Automobil revealed that in the second season there will be eight manufacturers that will supply powertrains to any teams participating in 2015/2016 Formula E season:

  1. ABT Sportsline
  2. Andretti
  3. Mahindra
  4. Motomatica
  6. Renault Sport
  7. Venturi Automobiles
  8. Virgin Racing Engineering

In the second season, teams will still get the same car chassis (the Spark-Renault SRT_01E) and the same battery packs, but the electric motor, inverter, gearbox and cooling system will be developed individually by each manufacturer and available for any team at fixed maximum cost.

Read more: Inside EVs

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: